Lamps are more than house utilities

copper, cedar, dyed cedar

Lamps are  one of the items I love creating. The design has developed over the last 8 years and is always changing.

wheat + coloured brass/reed + copper
willow + cable ties

Each lamp is distinct and unique and made with a variety of materials-willow, cedar, coloured metal strips, reeds, and grasses.

I just finished a lamp made of wasp nest paper.

I will try any material as long as it works and looks good. These materials are woven onto a frame with waxed linen thread, wire, or cane.

I will never forget when I plugged in the first lamp I made and saw the shadows cast upwards. It is a surprise in waiting for each owner.

Memories, vintage pattern paper, buttons, and text

I am experimenting with mixed media lamps now after having taken many different courses while completing the certificate in fine arts at Emily Carr Art + Design University.

I recently took some print making courses and loved the immediacy of the process. For me it is a great way to draw and paint with imperfections being a delightful part of the outcome. As with all my work the natural world provides inspiration.

Materials used in my art practice

About melaniethompsonsaltspring

A free spirit that loves working with natural materials to create beautiful art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lamps are more than house utilities

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Lori Messer says:

    Congratulations Melanie – what an absolutely gorgeous and inspiring blog! I would posit that this is “art” rather than “craft” though. In my mind you are evolving into a talented artist!

  3. Rae Hunter says:

    Wow have you ever evolved over the years I have been fortunate to know you. This is definitely you! Your works are an explosion of creativity.

  4. Barbra Edwards says:

    Your new site is absolutely delicious to look at Melanie. Of course you already know I love you work…now a space to wander through at leisure to enjoy. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

