New work

This is a mixed media piece I made for a show called Boxed In! It is a vintage metal lunch kit from some stuff found in an old house.

I  painted, spackled, and added image transfers inside and out. Inside there is a book made from handmade construction paper. It is filled with memorabilia from my first grade year.

I put in some schoolyard games too, Chinese skipping rope, skipping songs, and marbles. It was fun to make. I hope it gets picked for the exhibit.

I made a new lamp with cane and the palm fibre I got in the Amazon from the women of the Huitoto tribe. I was going for a sculptural look but the one in my mind was not the one I produced.

I finally figured out how to weave with basketry techniques on the new bases. I will make more along this line. I’m excited to be able to weave with this material again for lamps. It makes such nice shadows.

About melaniethompsonsaltspring

A free spirit that loves working with natural materials to create beautiful art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New work

  1. Lori Messer says:

    The lamp is stunning! What the base? it wasn’t clear.

  2. Lynne says:

    That boxed in project is totally fun! I love how you made it so personal and used a variety of techniques. Amazing how you managed to get it done at all, what with your Age-Activated Attention Deficit Disorder!
    (insert smiley face here)
    That lamp is beyond awesome!!

Leave a Reply

