connecting the dots

close up, dots connected

This is a new mixed media piece I made for the exhibit ‘connecting the dots’.  I had a hard time in the beginning because I put too much spackle on and had too much texture. So I spackled over the mess.  I’m happy with it now.

dots connected full view

I used bike maps, tire tread, photo transfers to show my connection to biking around Steveston and my connection to the environment.

detail with text

 
I used a geranium petal rubbed into  3 circles for the red colour. I love the colour. There were other photos and text that got buried so  I added my own text with my nib pen and sepia ink. I will use this technique again.
About melaniethompsonsaltspring

A free spirit that loves working with natural materials to create beautiful art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to connecting the dots

  1. Lynne says:

    Spackle, much like unbleached white acrylic paint, cures all!

Leave a Reply

