some other things

air (2)

‘air’ lamp 2013

Some other things I have been up to:

I made this lamp for a show called Air. I thought about the properties of air. Air becoming wind and how wind affects the environment in good and bad ways.

I made paper with wind blown seeds in. There were many I picked from my garden-fireweed, smooth hawksbeard, dandelion, hairy cat’s ear, canada thistle, prickly saw thistle, and wall lettuce. Many of these seeds look like variations of dandelions. I was surprised how many types there are. The plastic bag top represented clouds. The base is coloured steel to reflect the earth.

I wasn’t chosen…..I know it’s hard to believe.

This is a painting I made for my sister. It shows all the places that were meaningful to her, places she lived, visited, and places that were part of her daily life. I used stamps, letter head, and old letters that she had sent me from these places. All the place names are written on the sides of the canvas as well as in the painting.

home 2013 (2)

home, 2013

home 2013 (1)

home, 2013

About melaniethompsonsaltspring

A free spirit that loves working with natural materials to create beautiful art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

