work entered in upcoming shows

tendril 2015

tendril, copper vase, copper leaves, copper mesh, wire 2015

tendril, detail rim 2015

detail, leaves with mesh

I made some copper leaves years ago in a metalsmithing course and have wanted to use them in a piece ever since. This is it. I had to make more leaves and couldn’t get the same colouring, I didn’t take notes, so I was just experimenting. I am happy how they turned out. The body is woven with heavy gauge copper strips and that was hard to use. The colouring was experimental and it is exciting to look at the reveal the next day. I took this work apart 4 times because I found mistakes in the weaving. With this weave you don’t find your mistakes until you have woven a few rows and the pattern stops working. Frustrating but necessary to fix.

This piece is entered into a juried show, the Salt Spring National Art Prize show in the fall. It’s a long shot but if you don’t enter you can’t get in. Here’s hoping.

crystal, electric wire 2015

electrified, electrical wire, crystals 2015

electric wire detail top 2015

top view of all the knots

This piece was made for a juried show, LAMP 2015. The theme is crystallize and this is my take on a chandelier using recycled materials. I have enough electrical wire to last a lifetime and I have been making things to use it up. This took tons of wire but I still have lots left. I put 4 pieces on each square side with a half hitch. We had the crystals for years, just waiting for the piece to use them on. Finalists notified in September.

hedgehog 2015

hedgehog, peeled and unpeeled willow, beads, crystals 2015

hedgehog detail bottom 2015

detail, bottom

This piece is also entered into the SSNAP show.  Crystals and beads finally finding the right place to go. I like the challenge of trying for shows, it really makes me work to come up with something I think is worthy of exhibit.

 

About melaniethompsonsaltspring

A free spirit that loves working with natural materials to create beautiful art.
This entry was posted in lamps. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to work entered in upcoming shows

  1. Rhonda Paterson says:

    Very beautiful work Melanie! Colin and I both like the new ideas you are creating..You Rock sis!

    Rhonda

    Date: Mon, 11 May 2015 00:29:32 +0000 To: patersonrhonda@hotmail.com

  2. Deb says:

    I love it all, especially the metal basket. It’s so fine!
    Deborah [your other sister!]

Leave a Reply

